Edinburgh, Scotland – Travel Tips by Huiyan

0
191
views
Edinburgh, Scotland
What type(s) of travellers would your recommendations for Edinburgh suit?

Solo travellers, backpackers and those who are into culture.

How long would you recommend for one to spend there?

3 days 2 nights.

What are the top things to do in Edinburgh that you would recommend?
1. Catching a comedy show
A Comedy Show
A Comedy Show

– There’s something happening every night at Monkey Barrel Comedy club

– Edinburgh is an excellent place for comedy – especially if you love good British humour

– Students get to watch some shows for free!

2. Join a free (out of the ordinary) walking tour
Free Walking Tour of Edinburgh
Free Walking Tour of Edinburgh

– There are many free walking tours available with different themes (haunted walking tour, adults only walking tour, etc.)

– It’s advisable to leave the tour guide a tip after the walking tour. £5 is a good start and of course, give more if you find it exceptional!

3. Take a hike up Arthur’s Seat
View of Arthur's Seat
View of Arthur’s Seat

– It’s a volcanic formation in Edinburgh

– Easily accessible and walkable from the city

– Wear good shoes especially if it is rainy

– Enjoy a panoramic view of Edinburgh from the top!

What are the top things to eat in Edinburgh that you would recommend?
1. Coffee at Papii cafe

– Good coffee and food at affordable prices

Any recommendations on where to stay in Edinburgh?
Castle Rock Hostel.
When is a good time of the year to visit?
July to October.
How should one get around?

Walk.

Are there any local norms / cultures that a tourist should be aware of?
N.A.
What are the acceptable payment currencies and modes?

GBP, credit cards.

Any other tips/things to be aware of?
N.A.
How should one stay connected to the internet?

Free Wifi is available in the city.

Cost of Trip

Airfare – 22 EUR from Eindhoven to Edinburgh (thanks Ryanair).

Accommodation – Castle Rock Hostel, from £12 per bed

Food – £10-£20

Transport – Walking is free 🙂

Tell us a bit about yourself

I’m currently a student in the Netherlands with the goal of completing a master’s degree and seeing as much of Europe as I can 🙂